Kerala welfare funds: identify the right board first
Kerala has several sector-specific worker welfare funds. This guide compares two commonly confused schemes: the Kerala Labour Welfare Fund Board under the Kerala Labour Welfare Fund Act, 1975, and the Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Workers’ Welfare Fund Board under the 2006 Act. They have separate coverage rules, contribution periods and payment channels.
Do not choose a fund from the name “LWF” alone. Classify the establishment and worker under the applicable Act and scheme, then confirm the employer’s account with the responsible Board. For workers already covered by the Labour Welfare Fund who come under the Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Act, section 3A of the 2006 Act addresses membership in the Shops Fund and cessation of Labour Welfare Fund membership. Complex, mixed or self-employed cases should be confirmed with the Boards.
Rates published by the Boards
| Scheme | Employee share | Employer share | Period and published due dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Workers’ Welfare Fund | ₹50 per month | ₹50 per covered employee per month | Monthly. The Board page reviewed for this guide does not state a universal due date; confirm the current date in the employer portal or with the Board. |
| Kerala Labour Welfare Fund Board | ₹45 per half-year | ₹45 per covered employee per half-year | Before 15 July and 15 January, as published by the Board. |
These are separate flat contributions published by the respective Boards. The first scheme’s Board says the employer remits both shares. A person enrolled in a self-employed or IT scheme may have different payment instructions; verify that account’s current rate rather than applying the employee table.
How to check which scheme covers the establishment
- Kerala Labour Welfare Fund Act, 1975: the Act lists factories, certain plantations, motor-transport undertakings, some commercial establishments with two or more persons, business or trade establishments employing more than twenty persons, and any additional class notified by Government. Employee and establishment definitions and statutory exclusions also matter.
- Shops and commercial establishments: check the 2006 Shops Welfare Fund Act and its scheme, including section 3A where a worker is already a member of the 1975 fund. The Shops Board also administers separate membership categories, including self-employed members.
- Sector-specific boards: construction, motor transport, tailoring and other sectors may have their own welfare-board laws. Do not substitute either general fund rate for a sector-specific contribution.
The above is a screening checklist, not a final determination for every business. Establishment type, the applicable Shops Act definition, worker status, headcount history and any Government notification can affect coverage.
Registration, payment and records
- Identify the relevant Board from the statute and current scheme. If the establishment appears to fit more than one category, ask the Board to confirm the correct membership route before paying.
- Use the Board’s official portal or district office to register, update employee particulars and obtain the current contribution instructions.
- For the Shops Board, use its official portal and verify the due date and any scheme-specific instructions displayed for the establishment.
- For the Labour Welfare Fund Board, use its official portal. Its current public guidance lists the half-year contributions and 15 July / 15 January payment dates.
- Retain the employee-wise working, deduction record, payment receipt and Board acknowledgement. Reconcile the payroll deduction with the amount remitted.
Late-payment consequences depend on the governing Act, scheme, notice and facts. The Labour Welfare Fund Act contains a provision for simple interest after a demand notice; do not apply a penalty from one Board to the other or assume a notice has the same effect in every case.
Frequently asked questions
Is there one Kerala LWF rate?
No. The two Boards above publish different shares and periods, and Kerala also has sector-specific welfare funds. Confirm the account and scheme before using a calculator.
Is the Shops Board contribution due by the 5th of every month?
The official Shops Board payment page reviewed here confirms the ₹50 employee and ₹50 employer monthly contributions but does not state a general due date. Check the current portal instruction for the registered establishment; do not rely on an unverified date copied from another scheme.
Does every business with five employees register under the Labour Welfare Fund?
No. A blanket five-person rule is not a reliable statement of current coverage. The 1975 Act and the Shops Fund Act define covered establishments and workers differently. Check the relevant statutory category and any notifications.
Can I use this page’s calculator as a final liability statement?
No. The calculator estimates the selected flat rate for the number of workers entered. It cannot decide which Board covers an establishment, whether every person counted meets the statutory definition, or whether a special scheme applies.
Official references
- Kerala Labour Welfare Fund Board: coverage, contribution and due-date guidance
- Kerala Labour Welfare Fund Act, 1975 (Kerala Labour Commissionerate)
- Kerala Shops Board: payment and contribution details
- Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Workers’ Welfare Fund Act, 2006
Use our Kerala welfare-fund calculator for an estimate after confirming the applicable Board. For help with registration or reconciliation, see our LWF services or contact us.